Day 2 and 3 – Planning, Research, and Books

The last two days have involved lots of meetings dedicated to discussing how best to include all of the things we want to over the coming days of events. Tomorrow I will be guest facilitator a writing workshop for incarcerated men in Oregon State Penitentiary – I’ve found newspaper articles to be rewritten in a variety of styles, poems to be sliced up and used as poetry puzzles, and planned out how best to summarise our wonderful island for the men. I’m excited, but nervous.

A lot of our talks have led me to think a lot about prison experience – there has been mention of the loss of personhood which is experienced, and the reduction of a name to a number. Poetry, writing, and using words are a way to escape that reality. These classes are so important, and heading fantastically inspiring teachers discuss their work has encouraged me to think a lot about how appreciative I am of the position I am in.

On a slightly lighter note, there was time for an excursion to Salem city centre – I wore my Super Manx tshirt and met lots of interesting people on my way. My absolute highlight of this trip was a shop called Book Bin.

Book Bin

There was books for days – and the entire shop was an absolute haven as it was incredibly warm today and I’d walked in from the outskirts of town. I was sweaty, and a bit grumpy when I saw a shop with this sign in its window, how could I walk past?

Store Cat

For tomorrow’s workshop, we’re going to ask you to take part in a group poem along with the men, and the Secret Poet Society .

Please tell us what poetry is, comment it, or write/draw your words and take a photo of them to post below.

e.g.
Poetry is hard
Poetry is more than words
Poetry is free

 

 

See you tomorrow!

One thought on “Day 2 and 3 – Planning, Research, and Books

Leave a comment